be a special snowflake

by justineshungry

tumblr_mw9h8jOhDH1sdicdpo5_1280

As the winter season ends (but did it really even begin in Southern California?) and the snow melts away, it seems appropriate to reflect on good of the previous year and what will be great this coming year.

tumblr_mw9h8jOhDH1sdicdpo6_1280

tumblr_mw9h8jOhDH1sdicdpo3_1280

It’s common knowledge that every snowflake produced is completely unique; every shape is beautiful and intricate.
This is why people are commonly described as snowflakes, whether it’s to sarcastically point out how unoriginal someone may be, or it’s to genuinely explain how special they are.

The past year I’ve continually had doubts about my individuality.
Was I really that different from all of the other high school students?
Did I have any unique or redeeming qualities that no one else had?
The plain answer was no. But that didn’t mean I wasn’t original.

Every snowflake is unique because of how all of its characteristics are combined, just like people.
Many people may have similar qualities, but the real distinguishing factor is how those qualities are used and put out into the world.
The different combinations of angles, lines, and lengths on a snowflake create something extraordinary, and the same goes with all of us.

tumblr_mw9h8jOhDH1sdicdpo2_1280

tumblr_mw9h8jOhDH1sdicdpo4_1280

In 2013 I’ve had so many new experiences that have molded me into the person I am now.
I’m grateful for everything that has happened because today I can confidently say I’m happy with who I’ve become.
Everyone has flaws, but currently the redeeming qualities outweigh them greatly.

This overwhelming feeling of self-assurance is so refreshing and comforting, and I hope to continue this in 2014.

tumblr_mw9h8jOhDH1sdicdpo7_1280

tumblr_mw9h8jOhDH1sdicdpo1_1280

For me, 2014 will be all about self-improvement and plain ol’ having fun.
I want to be the best that I can be and enjoy life because, really, in 5 years, I’m not going to even think about all of the unnecessary pressure I put on myself, I’m just going to look back at the good memories I made for myself.

x

________________________________________

Macro Photography by Alexey Kljatov aka Chaoticmind75:
http://chaoticmind75.blogspot.ru/
http://chaoticmind75.tumblr.com/

